The Dinah Shore Trophy

2018 ANA Inspiration champion Pernilla Lindberg with the Dinah Shore Trophy.

2018 ANA Inspiration champion Pernilla Lindberg with the Dinah Shore Trophy.


History of the Trophy

The official name of the trophy is “The Dinah Shore Trophy.” The trophy is named in honor of television, film and recording star Dinah Shore, who was probably the single greatest influence in helping the Ladies Professional Golf Association achieve the prestige it enjoys today. Dinah was the first, and to date the only, honorary member to be inducted into the prestigious LPGA Hall of Fame. 

The trophy was designed and crafted in the early 1980’s under the direction of then Tournament Director, Dave Marr, and was originally called the “Dinah Shore Trophy.” It is crafted by Greene Silversmiths, the English partner of ProLine Golf of Spring, Texas. The trophy took approximately six months to create and cost more than $25,000. 

Dinah Shore presented the trophy to the winner of the tournament each year until her death in 1994. Since her passing, the trophy has been presented by tournament officials, with a few notable exceptions. Former President George H.W. Bush presented the trophy in 2004 with Dinah Shore’s daughter, Melissa Montgomery, presenting it on several other occasions.

Trophy Specs

Made of 100 percent sterling silver, the trophy is approximately 18 inches high and weighs roughly 25 pounds. The trophy is displayed in the clubhouse at Mission Hills Country Club in Rancho Mirage, California, and an exact miniature replica is crafted and presented to the winner each year. It takes about 30-45 days to create the replica.

Hall of Fame Members Who Have Won the Trophy

  • Mickey Wright

  • Kathy Whitworth

  • Nancy Lopez

  • Pat Bradley

  • Patty Sheehan

  • Betsy King

  • Amy Alcott

  • Juli Inkster

  • Judy Rankin

  • Donna Caponi

  • Annika Sorenstam

  • Karrie Webb

  • Inbee Park