ANA Inspiration Milestones


The first tournament, which consisted of 54 holes, is played on the Old Course at Mission Hills Country Club and won by Jane Blalock. 


Nabisco assumes sponsorship of the tournament from Colgate-Palmolive Co. The Nabisco event is also the first LPGA tournament to have all four rounds broadcast on national television. ABC carries the premiere broadcast. 


The LPGA designates the Nabisco a major championship tournament on the Tour. 


The Patty Berg award is presented to Dinah Shore by the LPGA’s board of directors for her outstanding contributions to women’s golf. 


Amy Alcott makes her first big splash at the 18th green when she captures her second Nabisco tournament title. 


Dinah Shore joins three-time winner Alcott for her celebratory swim, thus launching the “swim at the Shore” winner’s tradition. 


Dinah Shore is inducted as the first and, to date, only honorary member of the prestigious LPGA Hall of Fame. (She passed away in February 1994.) Champion Donna Andrews also makes a splash at the 18th green to honor Dinah and continue the tradition. 


The Dinah Shore Wall of Champions is dedicated to honor Dinah and the tournament’s past champions. 


Nabisco celebrates a “quarter century of champions” at its 25th anniversary tournament. 


Nabisco welcomes LPGA Hall of Famer Betsy King into the exclusive three-time champions club. King starts the final day tied with Kelly Robbins, but emerges victorious. Amy Alcott is the only other member of the club. 


Nabisco announces a new name for the tournament, the Nabisco Championship, and increases the purse by $250,000. Nabisco also unveils the Dinah Shore statue located along the 18th green at Mission Hills Country Club. The bronze statue serves as the focal point for Dinah’s Walk of Champions.


Nabisco raises the purse for the second consecutive year to $1.5 million, an increase of $250,000 from the previous year.


The tournament is renamed the Kraft Nabisco Championship, reflecting the acquisition of Nabisco by Kraft Foods in December 2000. 


Kraft Nabisco Championship raises its purse to $1.6 million, an increase of $100,000 from the 2002 tournament. This latest increase represents an overall raise of $600,000 over the past four years. In addition, the tournament revises its criteria for player eligibility. 


Kraft Nabisco Championship increases the purse to $1.8 million. 


Annika Sorenstam wins her third KNC title and joins Amy Alcott and Betsy King in the three-time champions club. 


The Kraft Nabisco Championship celebrates its 35th anniversary, and introduces “Poppie’s Pond” at Champions Lake at the 18th green. The tournament also moves to CBS Sports for its Sunday broadcast after 15 years on ABC Sports. 


Kraft Nabisco Championship raises the purse again to $2 million, reflecting the continued growth of women’s professional golf and the overall increase in prize money on the LPGA Tour. 


This was the 40th edition of the Kraft Nabisco Championship and its 29th year as a women's major golf championship. 


ANA signs on as Title Sponsor through 2019 and raises purse to $2.5M.


ANA extends title sponsorship of the year’s first Major for 3 years through 2022.


Purse for 2019 ANA Inspiration increase to $3 million

*Colgate Dinah Shore: 1972-1981
Nabisco Dinah Shore: 1982-1999
Nabisco Championship: 2000-2001
Kraft Nabisco Championship: 2002-2014
ANA Inspiration: 2015-current